## Minnesota State Boys' Hockey Tournament Facts for 2023

## **Jottings:**

This year's Class A championship game went double overtime, the 17th time a title game needed extra time. Of those previous 16 games, six went double overtime with the 2011AA Eden Prairie vs. Duluth East game needing three overtimes.

Overtime games were a common theme in the tournament this year with six games needing extra time (three in each class). Those six games tied the record for most overtime games during a tournament year (equaling the overtime games in 1970, 2000 and 2011). What makes 1970 more noteworthy is that there was only one class played.

Hill-Murray played two overtime games, bringing the Pioneers all-time mark in extra stanza games to 21 (a record). Conversely, they lost for the eleventh time (also a record). Edina won for the record twelfth time in overtime.

Orono did not make a shot on goal in their second period game with Hermantown, tying the record for fewest shots on goal in a period (a record they now share with 17 other teams). At the same time, Hermantown goalie Garron Opsahl made no saves in that period, tying the record for fewest saves in a period (with 25 other goalies).

There were no penalties called in the Cretin-Derham Hall vs. Maple Grove game. It was the twelfth time a game was played without a penalty (most recently by Greenway/Nashwauk-Keewatin vs. Delano in 2019).

With two players in the penalty box, Moorhead, in their game with Maple Grove, scored a goal while two men short. This had previously been achieved by only one other team: Bloomington Jefferson in a 1980 game with Minneapolis Southwest.

In winning two games in the tournament this year, Edina extended their record to 59 tournament wins. Their closer pursuer is Roseau with 55.

The leading scorers in each class this year were, in Class AA, Edina's Bobby Cowan and Gavyn Thoreson from Andover, both with five goals, two assists for seven points. In Class A, with nine points, Warroad's Carson Pilgrim tallied seven goals and two assists. Carson's seven goals were also a high watermark in the tournament.

Edina coach Curt Giles moved up the all-time tournament win list. His 28 career wins puts him in a tie for third with Larry Ross from International Falls and Jefferson's Tom Saterdalen. Edina's Willard Ikola heads the list with his 38 tourney wins.

Veteran tournament official Tony Lancette worked his fifteenth boys' tournament, one shy of the record 16 by Hank Frantzen, Mike Tok and John Boche. His 39 games worked is within three of the record held by Tok and Ron Storey.